2023 Top Ten Power Plant Operators

Posted: April 3, 2024

Power plant operators are on the font line keeping the lights on every day in AVEC communities.  Every year we recognize 10 power plant operators who respond quickly whenever a need arises and who make an extra effort to ensure the plant stays operational providing light and heat to their families and friends.

The winners are (in no particular order): Jason Jones of Anvik, Evan Hunt of Kotlik, Ellias Friday of Chevak, Stanton Nakarak of Elim, Rick Andrews of Emmonak, Brian Ekada of Nulato, Evon Jimmy of Nunapitchuk, Esau Moore of Quinhagak, Jimmy Duffy of Russion Mission, and Edward Bekoalok of Shaktoolik.

When considering who to honor, we consider the efforts our plant operators make throughout the whole year, not just every now and then. The top operators were selected based on some of the following criteria:

  • Responsiveness to requests for assistance from consumers and AVEC personnel.
  • Performing duties satisfactorily, including routine maintenance.
  • Running the most efficient generator to maximize fuel efficiency.
  • Keeping the day tank full of fuel.
  • Total hours of unscheduled power outages.
  • Keeping the plant clean and an inventory of normal routine maintenance materials on hand. Turning in completed paperwork.
  • Failure to keep the day tank full of fuel automatically disqualifies a plant operator from consideration.

Congratulations go to each of the winners. We truly appreciate the effort and dedication of all of our power plant operators. They play a critical role in AVEC’s success.