Board of Directors


Board Members

Fred Sagoonick portrait

Fred Sagoonick

Board Chair, Shaktoolik

Fred, elected as Board Chair in April 2019, was first elected to the board in 2007. Fred served in the US Navy as a radarman in the early 70s. Before he retired, Fred was the general manager of the Shaktoolik Native Corporation and previously served on the city council and as Mayor for two terms in the early 90s. He serves on the board of the Bering Straits Native Corporation and is active in commercial fishing.

Robert Beans portrait

Robert Beans

Board Vice Chair, Mt. Village

Robert was elected Vice Chairman in April 2019. He is a former long-term board chair and former vice chairman and has served on the board since 1987. Robert served in the Army National Guard for 18 years in addition to 8 years in law enforcement. Robert is from Mt. Village, where he currently owns a residence, and has lived in several locations in Alaska.

Helena Jones portrait


Helena Jones

Board Secretary, Ambler

Helena lives in Ambler and is AVEC’s longest-serving board member, having first been elected in 1982. She has previously served as secretary and treasurer. Helena is a Licensed Practical Nurse and served in that capacity for many years in Sitka, Kotzebue and Ambler. Helena also served on the Northwest Arctic School board for many years.

Peter Demoski portrait

Peter Demoski

Board Treasurer, Nulato

Peter lives in Nulato and was elected to the board in March 2012. Peter has been the Tribal Administrator for the Village of Nulato for more than 18 years. He is a Tribal Council member and serves on the Tanana Chiefs Conference executive board.

Robert Hoffman portrait

Robert Hoffman

Director, Bethel

Bobby was elected to the board in April 2017. He spent 23 years in the Alaska National Guard, serving in the 297th Eskimo Scout Battalion and retiring as a Major. He has served on the board of directors for Calista Regional Corporation, Orutsarmiut Native Council and Bethel Native Corporation.

Robert Okitkun portrait

Robert Okitkun

Director, Kotlik

Robert was elected to the board in 2018. Robert served in the U.S. Navy as an aircraft hydraulics mechanic. He has worked in various positions for the tribe, village and regional corporations. Past board experiences include Lower Yukon School District, Kotlik Yupik Corporation, Kotlik Traditional Council and several others. He also serves on the Yukon River Drainage Fisheries Association.

Walter Sampson portrait


Walter Sampson

Director, Noorvik

Walter was first elected to the board in 1989. He is from Noorvik, where he owns a residence. Walter is a decorated veteran of the Vietnam War. He worked for the NANA Corporation for 42 years, retiring as the vice-president of Lands and Regional Affairs in 2014. He also served on numerous state, regional and local boards and commissions.

Board Nominations

Nominations are no longer being accepted for the 2019 Board elections.

The documents below provide information about the Board Nominating Committee and its responsibilities as well as a Board Nomination form for potential board candidates to fill out.

Board Nominating Committee Policy (PDF)

Board of Directors Nomination Form (PDF)