November 2020 Back Page – Board Seat Nominations Open

Posted: October 19, 2020

The AVEC Bylaws require that every AVEC member be given the opportunity to vote on candidates to serve on the AVEC board of directors.

In order to start the process of selecting candidates for those seats, the AVEC Board has appointed a nominating committee of seven individuals who have served as delegates from their communities.

They are:

  • Isaac Ticknor from Anvik,
  • Thomas Neglaska from Kaltag,
  • Gerry Alexie from Mt. Village,
  • John Mark from Quinhagak,
  • Roger Hamilton Sr. from Shageluk,
  • Nellie Griest from Shungnak, and
  • Herbert Lockuk Jr. from Togiak.

The nominating committee will meet telephonically during the next several weeks to develop a list of candidates for the three board seats that will be vacated in 2021. Those seats are now held by Helena Jones from Ambler, Peter Demoski from Nulato, and Phyllis Clough from Old Harbor.

The nominating committee is now seeking nominations for candidates. According to the bylaws, “No member shall be eligible to become or remain a Director … who is not a bona fide member of the Cooperative or in good standing or who is in any way employed by or financially interested in a competing enterprise or a business selling electric energy or supplies to the Cooperative. When a membership is held jointly, either one, but not both, may be elected as Director, provided, however, that neither shall be eligible to become or remain a Director…unless BOTH shall meet the qualifications hereinabove set forth.”

If you are interested in running for the board of directors or wish to nominate another individual, please visit our website at and download the Nomination Form you can find there under the “About Us/board of directors” tab. Send the nomination form addressed to the nominating committee by mail to our address in Anchorage or by email to All nominations must be received by November 30, 2020.

The nominating committee is charged with the duty “to nominate candidates from the widest possible geographical distribution” and will prepare a slate of candidates for the board vacancies. Directors are elected at large, so the three candidates with the highest number of votes will be elected to the board unless more than one candidate comes from the same community. Since the bylaws also dictate that there shall not be more than one director from the same community, the candidate with the most votes from that community would be elected and the candidate with the highest votes from another community would be elected to the other seat.

We expect the nominating committee to complete its task by the end of this year, and ballots will be mailed to all members of record in early February 2021. Ballots must be returned before the annual meeting in April. The results will be announced at the annual meeting on April 7, 2021.