October 2017 Back Page – Window for Board Nominations Closing Soon

Posted: October 1, 2017

For the third time since the bylaws were amended, every AVEC member has a chance to vote on their choices to fill vacant seats on the AVEC board of directors. To start selecting candidates for those seats, the AVEC Board has recently appointed a nominating committee of seven individuals who served as delegates at the 2017 annual meeting. They are George Beans of St. Mary’s, Miles Cleveland of Ambler, Clarence Dull of Toksook Bay, Zora Inga of Old Harbor, Clyde Ramoth of Selawik, Agnes Takak of Shaktoolik and Darrell Vent of Huslia.

The nominating committee will meet by phone during the next several weeks to develop a list of candidates for the three board seats that will be vacated in 2018. Those seats are now held by Phyllis Clough of Old Harbor, Peter Demoski of Nulato and Helena Jones of Ambler.

The nominating committee is seeking nominations for candidates. According to the bylaws, “No member shall be eligible to become or remain a Director … who is not a bona fide member of the Cooperative or in good standing or who is in any way employed by or financially interested in a competing enterprise or a business selling electric energy or supplies to the Cooperative. When a membership is held jointly, either one, but not both, may be elected as Director, provided, however, that neither shall be eligible to become or remain a Director … unless BOTH shall meet the qualifications hereinabove set forth.”

If you are interested in running for the board of directors or wish to nominate another individual, please visit www.avec.org and download the nomination form under the “About Us/board of directors” tab. Send the nomination form addressed to the nominating committee by mail to our address in Anchorage or by email to amurphy@avec.org. All nominations must be received by Tuesday, October 31, 2017.

The nominating committee’s charge is “to nominate candidates from the widest possible  geographical distribution” and will prepare a slate of candidates for the board vacancies. Directors are elected at large, so the three candidates with the highest number of votes will be elected to the board unless more than one candidate comes from the same community. Since the bylaws also dictate there shall not be more than one director from the same community, the candidate with the most votes from that community would be elected and the candidates with the highest votes from other communities would be elected to the other two seats.

We expect the nominating committee to complete its task by the end of this year. Ballots will be mailed to all members of record in early February 2018. Ballots must be returned by late March. The results will be announced at the annual meeting April 4, 2018.