Notice of Vacancy on AVEC Board of Directors:

Posted: September 30, 2019

The Board of Directors of Alaska Village Electric Cooperative recently received the resignation of a board member who was elected in April of 2018 to serve a three year term. Following the creation of a vacancy on the board, the remaining board members are required by the Bylaws to appoint a qualified replacement to fill the remainder of the term, which ends in April 2021.

The current Board Members are:

  • Fred Sagoonick, Shaktoolik—Chair
  • Robert Beans, Mt. Village—Vice Chair
  • Helena Jones, Ambler—Secretary
  • Peter Demoski, Nulato—Treasurer
  • Robert Hoffman, Bethel
  • Walter Sampson, Noorvik

Any AVEC member in good standing may apply to fill this vacancy. The individual may not be employed by or financially interested in a competing enterprise or a business selling electric energy or supplies to the cooperative. In selecting a replacement director, The board will also consider the Bylaw requirement that no more than one director may come from a community and that directors must represent the “widest possible geographic distribution.”

Members wishing to be considered for this vacancy should submit a letter of interest addressed to the AVEC Board of Directors and mailed to 4831 Eagle Street, Anchorage, Alaska, 99503. Letters of interest may also be emailed to

All expressions of interest must be received no later than Friday, October 25, 2019.