Recap of the 2017 Annual Meeting

by / Wednesday, 05 July 2017 / Published in Featured Stories

AVEC held its 48th Annual Meeting on April 5th, 2017 at the Coast International Inn in Anchorage, Alaska. All but one of our communities held a meeting. Congratulations to our chairpersons and secretaries for making that happen.

The winners of the Chairman Early Bird drawings are: November – John Changsak of Russian Mission, December – Phyllis Clough of Old Harbor, and January – Sven Paukan of St. Mary’s.

Visioning Session Hot Topics

Last year we engaged the delegates in a focused visioning session, intended to increase the delegates’ knowledge of AVEC’s operations, construction programs and issues we face every day.

The process allowed delegates to interact directly with managers, board members and staff. “Forging our Future” is our theme for this process of working together to fulfill AVEC’s mission to be the best Alaskan utility.

This year the delegates prioritized a list of hot topics based on a a ranking by importance. Delegates and staff sat at different tables to discuss up to three different top priority topics in depth. They came up with a list of pertinent concerns, like things to watch out for or how to make things better or what works well. Each table reported their findings to the whole room.

Some of the hot topics included Power Cost Equalization, renewable energy, contaminated sites, capital credits for deceased members, membership issues, communications, damage claims – who is responsible for what, certified electricians and lack thereof, local hire, heat recovery, self generation, and grant funding.

The results of this visioning session will help the board shape their strategic planning later this year. The delegates were active in the discussions and said they liked this process.

Board Election

AVEC members voted by mail-in ballot for the second year in a row, instead of the delegates voting for the board members at the annual meeting.

A nominating committee met and selected four candidates to run for the two board seats up for election: David T. Hicks; Robert L. Beans; Angela Kamkoff; and Robert J. Hoffman. We received 1,748 ballots that were tallied by an independent accounting firm. Robert L. Beans and Robert J. Hoffman were announced as the winners. Board officers will be elected in June.

A big thank you goes to the Nominating Committee for their efforts to find good candidates: Walter Bauchman, Chair; Denis Shelden; Darla Jemewouk; Janice Demoski; Clyde Ramoth; George Beans and Clarence Dull.

Top 10 Power Plant Operators

The following 2016 Top 10 Power Plant Operators of the Year were announced: David Peterson of Mt. Village, Robert Nicholas and Megan Esmailka of Kaltag, Evan Hunt of Kotlik, Freddie John of Toksook Bay, Francis Nollner of Huslia, James Bright, Jr. of Goodnews Bay, Jim Duffy of Russian Mission, and Jason Jones of Anvik. Peter Lincoln of Toksook Bay and Frank Brown of Eek had a tie score, resulting in 11 PPOs being chosen. Photos are on page 8.

Hearty congratulations and a big expression of appreciation go out to these hard-working folks who are responsible for daily plant operations that keep the lights on in their communities! Be sure to tell your local plant operators thank you for all they do to keep the power on.

Delegate Service Awards

5 years: Darrel Vent of Huslia; Thomas Neglaska of Kaltag; Sam Tinker of Kasigluk; Nick Tom of Nightmute.
10 years: Ben Atoruk of Kiana; Bessie Galilia of Goodnews Bay; Agnes Takak of Shaktoolik.
15 years: Crim Evan of Kalskag; Clarence Dull of Toksook Bay; Elmer Seetot of Brevig Mission.
20 years: Herbert Lockuk of Togiak.

Employee Service Awards

These employees received service awards:

5 years: Samantha Hickman; Joni Sweetman; Elizabeth Ovel; George Miller.
10 years: Alden Worachek; Norm Miller; Shawn Kowalski; John Davis.
15 years: William “Bill” Thomson; Paula Griffin.
20 years: Amy Murphy.

Board Service Awards

These board members received service awards:

5 years: Peter Demoski
15 years: Charlie Curtis
30 years: Robert L. Beans Sr. and
35 years: Helena Jones.

Thank You

A big thank you goes out to AVEC’s staff members who plan the annual meeting and complete countless tasks involved with having this meeting run smoothly.

Sincere gratitude is extended to the staff at Alaska Travel Source, who quietly work behind the scenes to coordinate the complex logistics of getting our members (and employees) safely to and from Anchorage. We also appreciate our vendors that show their support and continue to donate nice door prizes.

A drawing was held for two surplus door prizes. Mitch Foster of Selawik won $100 in free freight from Northern Air Cargo and Thomas Jackson of Kiana won round-trip tickets on Bering Air.

The Crater Shopping Center in St. Michael won AVEC’s Grand Prize drawing for $500 towards their light bill.